The Wooster Township Fire Department is located in North East Ohio in Wayne County which is approximately 1 hour south of Cleveland.  The Department is comprised of the Fire Chief, Assistant Chief, one Captain, three Lieutenants and our Firefighter/EMT's.  All members are trained as both Firefighters and Emergency Medical Technicians. The department maintains 25-30 volunteers and 6 full-time career members.

Volunteers are assigned to a weeknight duty crew that responds to all EMS calls for that particular evening. The shift begins at 6:00pm and continues until 6:00am the following day. Part time fill in shifts are available during the weekends for our volunteers to sign up for.  Station duties, civic standbys and scheduled maintenance checks are conducted during weekend shifts. Members are expected to respond to all fire calls, when available.

The Wooster Township Fire Department serves the citizens in Wooster Township and, through contractual agreements, portions of Franklin, Plain and Wayne Townships. Total population for the district is approximately 8,500 in an area covering 56 square miles. The department is a participant in the Mutual Aid Box Alarm System (MABAS) which covers Wayne County and reaches into Holmes and Ashland counties and the Ohio Fire Chiefs Statewide Mutual Aid Plan agreement. The department responds to an average of  950 runs annually with approximately 750 of these runs being emergency medical responses.

The Wooster Township Fire Department operates out of one station located at 1917 Millersburg Road. Department equipment includes two ALS squads, three engines, one tanker, one brush truck, and the dive team unit with two boats.